Can I mass delete courses and users?

Comments

3 comments

  • Syllabus Geek

    A: There is no way to bulk delete courses (or for that matter, anything) from the database using feeds. Though we have thought long and hard about this, we have erred on the side of caution due to how risky is can be if this process does not go as intended.

    However, you do have three options for "eliminating" these rouge courses.

    1. You can rerun your course feed with the HIDE_FROM_SEARCH flag set to one. So long as no one is enrolled in the course, it will never be found again.
    2. You can update the external identifier manually for each course. This is accessed from the Edit Required Information page within the Course Settings area. You will need administrative domain permission in order to do this.
    3. You can manually delete each of the courses. This too is accessed from Settings > Edit Required Information, and you must have manage domain permission to do so.

     

    Often a similar question has been asked about the mass removal users. Like courses, there is no native functionality for this. Instead you should visit the Admin > User page, Find the users you wish to modify, and change their external user IDs and emails to something fitting that is identifiable and will not cause a conflict later, like DELETEusername and DELETEemail@domain.edu.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Syllabus Geek

    We are seeing additional requests come in that related to mass user, course, and registration management in terms of removal. See and add to the discussion here.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Syllabus Geek

    UPDATE! As of August 2013, the mass removal of users, courses, and registrations is now supported. Please review our feed specifications for instructions on how to achieve this.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.